Cuomo issues disaster declaration for counties impacted by flooding

Flooding in Sherburne / Photo: Tom Eschen

Governor Andrew Cuomo issued a disaster declaration Friday afternoon for areas of eastern Central New York that have been hit by severe storms and destructive flooding.

The disaster declaration includes Broome, Chenango, Clinton, Delaware, Essex, Franklin, Herkimer, Madison, Montgomery, Oneida, Otsego, Tioga, Schoharie, St. Lawrence and Warren counties.

Cuomo has activated the New York State Office of Emergency Management (NYSOEM) to closely monitor the impacted areas and to assist counties with ongoing rescue and recovery efforts.

"The State is taking action to provide immediate assistance and support to counties in the Mohawk River Valley which are experiencing floods," said Cuomo. "I will be closely monitoring the situation and my administration will continue to coordinate with first responders in all of the affected flooded areas. I urge New Yorkers in these areas to monitor news reports and follow directions from emergency personnel on the ground."

New York State Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services (DHSES) Commissioner Jerome M. Hauer says more rain is in the forecast, which creates the potential for more flooding.

Madison County has also declared a State of Emergency due to flooding in Madison County and the City of Oneida. The County says it is working closely with the Governorâ??s Office.