President Obama declares state of emergency in New York

A mall is flooded in Johnson City, NY Thursday / photo: Wayne Mahar

President Barack Obama has declared a state of emergency in New York State.

The declaration announced early Friday clears the way for federal aid to the rain-ravaged counties of Albany, Broome, Chenango, Chemung, Delaware, Greene, Herkimer, Montgomery, Oneida, Otsego, Rensselaer, Schenectady, Schoharie, Sullivan, and Tioga.

One of the hardest hit areas is Binghamton, which saw record flooding.

Lingering rain from the tattered remains of Tropical Storm Lee swamped the region starting Wednesday, adding misery to a part of the country already sopping from the remnants of Irene 10 days earlier.