Seven flooded CNY counties will not get state aid

Flooding in Clinton, June 28

Seven upstate New York counties that are part of the federal disaster area because of summer flooding won't get special state aid after all.

Gov. Andrew Cuomo and legislative leaders are directing state aid to individuals in the five hardest hit counties after a request for federal aid was rejected. That $16 million goes to Madison, Oneida, Niagara, Herkimer and Montgomery counties.

When pressed about the other less damaged counties after a July 17 conference in Herkimer, Cuomo said through a spokesman the other counties would be considered too.

Now Cuomo administration officials have made it clear individuals in Allegany, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Franklin, Otsego and Warren counties won't get the state aid.

The money is for homeowners, businesses and farmers denied individual aid from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.