Six Syracuse Fire Department Officers promoted at special ceremony

      Six Syracuse Fire Department Officer were promoted Friday. Mayor Stephanie Miner announced the promotions at a special ceremony at City Hall Friday.

      "Our promoted officers represent some of the best and brightest our department has to offer," said Syracuse Mayor Stephanie A. Miner. "Their promotion is a result of the strong leadership in our department and I am glad to see them move ahead in the ranks."

      These six officers were promoted:

      Robert Cussen

      has become a Deputy Chief. He joined the department in 1997 and was most recently promoted to district chief in 2010.

      Lee Eckl

      has become District Chief. He has been a Syracuse Firefighter since 2000. He serves on Engine 2 and is currently a captain.

      David Ellis

      is promoted to Captain. He has been a firefighter since 2000. He was promoted to Lieutenant in 2009.

      Nicholas Pagano

      is promoted to captain. He has been a firefighter since 2000. He is certified paramedic.

      Gary Lighton

      is promoted to Lieutenant. He had served the department since 1993. He is also a member of the NYS Air National Guard.

      Zachary Smith

      is promoted to Lieutenant. He has been a firefighter since 2006 and has a B.S. Degree in Aerospace engineering.