States of Emergency declared in local counties due to Hurricane Sandy

Several local counties have declared states of emergency ahead of Hurricane Sandy.

Cayuga County declared a state of emergency that goes into effect at 6 p.m. Monday. This means no unnecessary travel in the county due to major concerns about flooding in the Fair Haven area along Lake Ontario. High winds are expected to bring down trees and power lines.

Chenango County is also declaring a state of emergency beginning at 9 p.m. Monday. All roads in the county will be closed due to the threat of numerous trees and power lines being knocked down due to strong winds from the storm. The state of emergency will remain in effect until 6 a.m. Tuesday.

Wayne County declared a state of emergency beginning at 2pm Monday afternoon.

Remember never to drive through standing water. If you live near a creek, stream or a drainage that's running full, be ready to move at a moment's notice. Also, assume any power line down on the ground is live and stay away from it.