Young drivers face increased penalty for texting while driving

New York lawmakers have voted to suspend the licenses of young drivers for 60 days when they're caught texting or using a hand-held cell phone while on the road.

The traffic violations already carry fines.

The legislation approved by the Senate and Assembly on Wednesday applies to drivers with permits and probationary or junior licenses.

They would face a 60-day suspension for a first offense.

A second offense within six months would revoke a probationary license for six months and a junior license for 60 days.

Sponsors cited a 2011 survey showing 45 percent of students 16 and older texted or emailed while driving in the previous 30 days.

New York reported the number of cell phone-related crashes more than doubled from 2005 to 2011.