Syracuse's new police, fire chiefs sworn in

Syracuse welcomed a group of new officials Tuesday morning, as the city's new police and fire chiefs, deputy chiefs and the deputy mayor were all sworn into office.

Mayor Stephanie Miner was on hand to welcome the new officials, which includes the first woman to serve as a deputy chief in Syracuse, Rebecca Thompson. She will be assigned to the Patrol Bureau.

Others that were sworn in include:

- Police Chief Frank Fowler- First Deputy Police Chief David Barrette- Fire Chief Mark McLees- First Deputy Fire Chief Charlie Duffy- Deputy Mayor John Cowin- Deputy Police Chiefs Shawn Broton (Investigations Bureau) and Joseph Cecile (Community Services Bureau)

Fowler served as a deputy chief of the Community Services Bureau for five years, and is a 20-year veteran of the Syracuse Police Department.

A 35-year veteran of the Police Department, Barrette was deputy chief of the Uniform Bureau from 2005-09.

McLees will serve as Fire Chief after 24 years with the Syracuse Fire Department, serving as District Chief for the last nine years. Duffy is also a 24-year veteran of the department, having served as a District Chief. Duffy's son Colin is also a firefighter with the department's Rescue Company.

The new deputy mayor, Cowin, has served 31 years as a firefighter with the city fire department and has received two Syracuse Fire Department Medals of Honor.

Cecile has served in the department for 24 years, being promoted to sergeant and becoming a patrol supervisor.

Broton joined the department in 1988 as a patrol officer, becoming a lieutenant in 2006 and a captain in 2009.