ACC coaches name five Orange football players all-conference

Five Syracuse Orange football players were selected to the 2013 ACC All-Conference team by coaches in a vote announced Wednesday afternoon.

Center Macky MacPherson, a senior from Syracuse who attended Christian Brothers Academy, was selected to the All-ACC second team. He received ten votes after starting every game for the Orange.

Selected to the third team were junior running back Jerome Smith, senior defensive tackle Jay Bromley, senior linebacker Marquis Spruill, and sophomore safety Durell Eskridge.

No Orange players were named to the first team.

Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston swept the major awards, winning overall player of the year, offensive player of the year, rookie of the year, and offensive rookie of the year. He is the first freshman to win the conference's player of the year award. The Seminoles led all schools with 17 selections to the first, second and third teams.

Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald was named defensive player of the year. Duke's David Cutcliffe won coach of the year for the second consecutive season.

The awards were voted on by the conference's 14 head coaches. They were not allowed to vote for their own players.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off