Boeheim, Johnson sweep Big East awards

Wesley Johnson / file photo

Jim Boeheim has been voted Big East coach of the year, joining Connecticut coach Jim Calhoun as the only four-time winners of the award.

Syracuse forward Wes Johnson is the player of the year, giving the top individual awards Tuesday a decidedly Orange flavor. Cincinnati guard Lance Stephenson was voted rookie of the year.

Boeheim led Syracuse (28-3) to the regular-season title and the top seed in the Big East tournament. Along the way, the Orange went from unranked to No. 1 in The Associated Press poll, the first team to accomplish the feat since Kansas in January 1990.

Johnson is the first transfer from a four-year school to be player of the year. He sat out last season after arriving from Iowa State, and leads the Orange in scoring and rebounding.

On Sunday, Johnson was named first team All-Big East, while teammate Andy Rautins made the second team and Brandon Triche joined the all-rookie squad. Kris Joseph picked up the league's sixth man award on Monday.

Last week, the Syracuse University men's basketball head coach was recognized by Yahoo Sports as their national coach of the year. Click on the link to see who else is on the Yahoo All-Coaches Team .

Tuesday, The Sporting News named Boeheim as its College Basketball Coach of the Year. Click here to read the article from The Sporting News.

Also, although not an 'official' national award,'s Pat Forde has mentioned Boeheim as his coach of the year in his annual awards column .

Boeheim's #3 ranked Orange have a double bye in this week's Big East Conference Tournament as the top seed. They play their first game at noon on Thursday at Madison Square Garden in New York City, against the winner of the South Florida/Georgetown contest on Wednesday afternoon. South Florida defeated DePaul Tuesday to advance to face the Hoyas, who had a single bye into the second round.

Information from the Associated Press was used in this report.