C.J. Fair, Preseason ACC Player of the Year, not named to All-America team

C.J. Fair works out before an NCAA Tournament game last season.

The Associated Press named its Preseason All-America team Monday morning, and a familiar local name was not among the top five.

C.J. Fair, who last month was tabbed as the media's choice as the

Preseason ACC Player of the Year

, was not named to the All-America first team. Fair was left off the list in favor of Kansas forward Andrew Wiggins, who has yet to play a single college basketball game.

Topping the list is Oklahoma State sophomore guard Marcus Smart, the only unanimous selection. Joining Smart and Wiggins are two-time All-American forward Doug McDermott of Creighton, Louisville senior guard Russ Smith, and Michigan sophomore center Mitch McGary.

Smart, the reigning Big 12 player of the year, averaged 15.4 points, 5.8 rebounds, 4.2 assists and 3.0 steals last season. McDermott averaged 23.2 points and 7.7 rebounds last season and was named Missouri Valley Conference player of the year.

Smith, who received 52 votes, averaged 18.7 points and 2.9 assists in helping the Cardinals win the national championship. Wiggins, only the second freshman to earn preseason honors after North Carolina's Harrison Barnes, averaged 23.4 points and 11.2 rebounds as a high school senior. He was on 42 ballots.

McGary, who averaged 7.5 points and 6.3 rebounds as the Wolverines reached the NCAA title game (defeating Syracuse along the way) got 34 votes.

Fair led the Orange with averages of 14.5 points and 7 rebounds last year, and returned to SU for his senior season after contemplating entering the NBA Draft.

Other players receiving votes include Isaiah Austin, Arizona State; Jahii Carson, Arizona State; Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky; Aaron Craft, Ohio State; Cleanthony Early, Wichita State; Aaron Gordon, Arizona; Gary Harris, Michigan State; Joe Harris, Virginia; Rodney Hood, Duke; Roy Devyn Marble, Iowa; James Michael McAdoo, North Carolina; Jabari Parker, Duke; Adreian Payne, Michigan State; Julius Randle, Kentucky; James Young, Kentucky.

(information from the Associated Press was used in this report.)