Get on board, the Syracuse Chiefs win first division title in 25 years

The Syracuse Chiefs (80-61) beat the Pawtucket Red Sox 6-2 on Saturday night, clinching their first division title in 25 years.

Michael Taylor homered in the first inning, only to see the Pawsox answer with two runs of their own in the bottom of the frame. After a Steven Souza Jr. RBI tied the game 2-2 in the fourth, it was none other that Steven Souza stepping to the plate in the 5th with the bases loaded. Red Sox pitcher Matt Barnes first threw a wild pitch scoring Sandy Leon. Souza proceeded to double, his 25th of the year, scoring Will Rhymes and Jeff Kobernus, giving the Chiefs a 5-2 lead.

Mitch Lively pitched six innings, giving up just two runs, while striking out 11 Red Sox for his 5th win of his Triple A season.

Syracuse will start the 4-team International League playoffs on Wednesday, traveling to whoever wins the Wild Card for Games 1 and 2 on Wednesday and Thursday. They will then host Games 3, 4 (if necessary) and 5 (if necessary) in NBT Bank Stadium on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Friday and Saturday's first pitch would be at 7 p.m., while Sunday would start at 1 p.m.

The Chiefs wrap up their regular season with games at NBT Bank Stadium on Sunday and Monday against Buffalo.