Section III girls' soccer playoff seedings announced

Here are the seedings for the Section III girls' soccer tournament.Class AAWith a record of 14-1-0 Baldwinsville earned the top spot, followed by Christian Brothers Academy (14-2-0), Liverpool (12-3-0) and, winning a tie breaker, Fayetteville-Manlius (11-5-0).Class AWhitesboro took the top seed with a record of 14-1-1. Nipping at their heels in is the number 2 seed, Jamesville-DeWitt (14-2-0). Third seed Watertown comes in with a Frontier league Class A championship and a 12-4-0 record. Earning the 4th seed is Camden with a 10-6-0 record.The 5 and 6 seed were determined by tie breaker with Cortland being seeded 5 based on the 5th tie breaker, with Cortland picking up more points for wins against larger class schools.Class BWatertown IHC (13-2-1) took the top seed based on their head-to-head record against Lowville (13-2-1). The third seed went to perennial powerhouse Marcellus (13-3-0) while the 4th seed went to Westhill (12-3-1).Cazenovia was placed fifth over Mt Markham (sixth) in another tiebreaker. The deciding factor again was the fifth tie breaker where additional points are assigned for wins against larger schools.The same fifth tie breaker was used to determine Clinton and Skaneateles seeding. Based on this, Clinton was seeded above Skaneateles.Class CThe C schools had 17 entrants this year. This resulted in a split class, the first since 2006. The class is broken based on school size.Class C-1Sauquoit hit perfection this year with a 16-0-0 record and took the top seed, Tully (13-1-2), was seeded second, South Lewis (12-4-0), was seeded third. Cooperstown and Waterville came in with identical win percentages, but Cooperstown had more wins and beat Waterville head to head twice so was seeded fourth based on the second tiebreaker.Bishop Grimes and Thousand Islands also entered with identical win percentages, but the tie was broken on the basis of more wins.Class C-2The C-2 bracket consists of the eight smaller C teams qualifying for sectionals. Bishop Ludden (12-2-1) took the top seed followed by second seed Mohawk (13-3-0), third seed Fabius-Pompey (9-5-1), and fourth seed Beaver River.As a result of the split class, there will be a C1 and C2 Sectional Champion awarded next week and an overall C champion crowned at SUNY Cortland on Saturday, November 7th.Class DAnother perfect team, McGraw at 16-0-0, took the #1 seed, followed by Remsen (13-2-0), Copenhagen (12-3-1) and off another tie breaker, Hamilton (12-4-0) based on the fifth tie breaker, points for wins against larger schools was seeded ahead of Poland (11-3-2)There was one additional tie between Madison and DeRuyter, with Madison being seeded ahead based on more wins.Sectional Finals will be held at at SUNY Cortland on Saturday November 7.

Courtesy: Peter Lautensack