Authorities arrest 16 on charges of meth production

Authorities charge 16 related to meth production (Photo: MGN Online)

Sixteen people from central New York are facing federal charges related to production of methamphetamine, U.S. Attorney Grant C. Jaquith announced on Wednesday.

The 16 people defendants, all from Cortland, Broome and Tioga counties, were arrested Tuesday in connection to federal indictments charging them with possessing pseudoephedrine, an over-the-counter drug, knowing that it would be used to make methamphetamine.

Those charged are:

  • Warren J. Zeilman, 56, from Vestal
  • Lisa K. Zeilman, 52, from Vestal
  • Tyler Brobeck,27, from Cortland
  • Alysia M. Brobeck, 27, from Cortland
  • Pamela Lackner, 48, from Cortland
  • William J. Richards, 39, from Johnson City
  • Kurtis H. Richards, 20, from Johnson City
  • Charles A. McNeilly, 50, from Whitney Point
  • Donald W. Moshier, 39, from Whitney Point
  • Corey R. Mangan, 30, from Lisle
  • Troy D. Clark, 40, from Whitney Point
  • Mervin R. Clark, 63, from Glen Aubrey
  • Lindy S. Clark, 34, from Glen Aubrey
  • Samantha B. Albanese, 32, from Truxton
  • James E. Duff, 39, from Truxton
  • Timothy Duff, 38, from Cortland

If convicted, the defendants face up to 20 years in prison, a fine up to $250,000 and terms of supervised release of up to three years, according to Jaquith's office.

“These cases illustrate our continuing commitment to combating the alarming proliferation of small, clandestine methamphetamine ‘laboratories’ that use pseudoephedrine and caustic chemicals and solvents in a process that endangers the participants and the environment and yields a poisonous product that harms users, families, and communities," Jaquith said. There is hope in the remedial and preventive effects of strong enforcement, along with education regarding the harmful effects of methamphetamine, the need for treatment for users, and the importance of contacting law enforcement when a meth lab is suspected.”

These cases are being investigated by the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA)-Syracuse Resident Office, State Police, the U.S. Marshal’s Service, Cortland County Sheriff’s Office, City of Cortland Police Department, City of Ithaca Police and the Department and the Broome County Special Investigations Unit, which includes the City of Binghamton Police Department, the Broome County Sheriff’s Department, the Town of Vestal Police Department and the Village of Endicott Police Department.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off