Cayuga County added to FEMA disaster declaration for 2017 Lake Ontario flooding

CNYCentral file photo

Cayuga County has been approved for federal disaster funding under FEMA for Lake Ontario flooding last spring.

In November, funding was approved for six counties in New York affected by flooding in spring 2017. President Donald Trump declared a "major disaster" for those areas affected by flooding from May 2 through August 6, 2017. Cayuga County in Central New York and Monroe County in Western New York were each left off that list.

Governor Cuomo and other state and local leaders appealed the decision last month; the governor applauded the addition of the counties Friday.

"This year, many communities experienced severe and repetitive flooding along the shores of Lake Ontario due to historically high water levels and New York has been fighting all year to ensure the federal government provide appropriate support to help counties get back on their feet," said Governor Cuomo. "With this amendment, Monroe and Cayuga Counties will not only be able to make critical repairs to facilities and infrastructure, but improve their resiliency as well."

Debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair and rebuilding of publicly-owned infrastructure that was damaged including roads, schools, bridges, parks, hospitals, police stations, fire houses, water and waste water treatment facilities and other public facilities will be covered under the FEMA funding.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off