Fair Haven currently not approved for federal Lake Ontario flooding relief

Fair Haven, in Cayuga County

Tuesday's announcement from the White House declaring a major disaster for counties affected by Lake Ontario flooding was a relief for some.

However, the village of Fair Haven, in Cayuga County, is not included in the areas currently eligible for federal relief. The counties of Oswego, Jefferson, Niagara, Orleans, St. Lawrence, and Wayne are only eligible for funding right now.

The village, nestled on Little Sodus Bay, has been dealing with the negative effects of flooding for months.

At Little Sodus Inn, which sits on the far south end of the bay, the water was over the docks at one point this spring. Bar manager Lisa Evankovich said the business has suffered significantly because of the lack of boat traffic due to closed docks, but remains optimistic that Cayuga County will receive the federal funding it deserves.

"I would hope that we are, because it's been, we've got a lot of damage that needs to be fixed and recognized," Evankovich said.

Fair Haven Mayor James Basile is also confident the county will eventually be approved for federal funding.

"We do believe that the application is still under review and going through due process and we're hopeful that it will continue through and just be approved," Basile said.

U.S. Rep. John Katko's office said Cayuga County, as well as Monroe County, are still under federal review for their disaster declaration.

"Once the review is complete, FEMA will either amend the federal declaration and add Cayuga or Cayuga will be denied. If denied, New York state then has 30 days to appeal," said Katko's spokeswoman Erin O'Connor.

For now, Evankovich will press on with business as usual.

"We try and keep the place up to bear and not think of everything that's been going on and keep everybody's spirits high," Evankovich said.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off