Flooding Alerts in Parts of CNY



An Urban and Small Stream Flood Advisory has been issued for the following counties:

  • Seneca County and Northeastern Yates county until 5:30 PM
  • Northwestern Cayuga and Northwestern Onondaga counties until 6:15 PM
  • Southeastern Oneida, Madison, Northeastern Cortland, and Northern Chenango counties through 7:30 pm.

An Urban and Small Stream Flood Advisory means that heavy rain could produce localized flooding in urban areas with poor drainage, and near small streams.

The National Weather Service says:

Some locations that will experience flooding include...

Seneca Falls, Waterloo, Penn Yan, Romulus, Fayette, Benton,

Montezuma, Tyre, Ovid and Dresden.

If your area has a flood advisory, here is what you should do:

-- Do not attempt to cross swiftly flowing waters.

-- Do not attempt to cross waters of unknown depth by foot, car, truck, or sports utility vehicle.

-- It only takes a few inches of swiftly flowing water to carry vehicles away.

-- If your car stalls in a flooded or low-lying area, abandon it immediately.

-- Turn around, don’t drown. Find an alternative route.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off