Tax relief for towns impacted by weather

Governor Cuomo releases executive order to extend property tax payment deadline to certain NY towns.

Governor Andrew Cuomo issued an executive order extending the property tax payment due date in municipalities impacted by recent winter storms.
This extension will allow neighbors to pay their taxes without interest or penalty for an additional 21 days past the final date taxes are due.

The Governor's office says this in in response to request by several towns whose property tax due dates fell during or shortly after recent storms, but whose residents were unable to make the payments on time due to the disruption of public transportation, utility service, and postal operations.

The extension is granted to towns across New York State:

Albany County: the Town of Berne
Allegany County: the Towns of Ward and Willing
Broome County: the Towns of Union and Vestal
Cattaraugus County: the Town of Ellicottville
Cayuga County: the Town of Mentz
Chautauqua County: the Towns of Sinclairville and Poland
Chenango County: the Town of Coventry
Clinton County: the Town of Ellenburg
Columbia County: the Town of Livingston
Delaware County: the Town of Hancock
Erie County: the Towns of North Collins and West Seneca
Franklin County: the Towns of Bellmont, Duane, and Tupper Lake
Fulton County:the Town of Oppenheim
Genesee County: the Town of Darien
Greene County: the Towns of Catskill and New Baltimore
Hamilton County: the Town of Benson
Herkimer County: the Town of Danube
Jefferson County: the Towns of Cape Vincent, Clayton, Henderson, Leray, Lyme, Orleans, Pamelia, Philadelphia, Watertown, and Wilna
Lawrence County: the Town of Colton
Lewis County: the Town of Lyonsdale
Livingston County: the Towns of Lima and Livonia
Madison County: the Town of Nelson
Nassau County: the Town of Hempstead
Niagara County: the Towns of Hartland, Niagara, and Pendleton
Oneida County: the Towns of Forestport and Paris
Onondaga County: the Towns of Elbridge and Geddes
Orange County: the Town of Crawford
Orleans County: the Towns of Barre and Murray
Oswego County: the Towns of Orwell and Schroeppel
Otsego County: the Town of Otsego
Rensselaer County: the Towns of East Greenbush, Petersburgh, and Sand Lake
Rockland County: the Town of Ramapo
Saint Lawrence County: the Towns of Dekalb, Piercefield, and Rossie
Schoharie County: the Towns of Carlisle, Cobleskill, and Jefferson
Steuben County: the Towns of Hartsville and Hornellsville
Tompkins County: the Town of Ulysses
Ulster County: the Town of New Paltz
Westchester County: the Towns of Cortlandt, Greenburgh, North Castle, Rye, and Yorktown
Wyoming County: the Towns of Arcade and Covington

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off